Home > Latest News > Welcome Te Waipounamu District Māori Council

Welcome Te Waipounamu District Māori Council


nz map paua

Te Waipounamu District Māori Council was elected by the Kaikoura, Waimakariri and Ōtautahi Māori Committees at a publicly notified hui on 22 June 2014.

Council officers are Melanie Mark-Shadbolt (Chair),     Ngaio Te Ua (Vice Chair), Angelia Ria (Secretary) and Jamie Hape (Treasurer)

About Us

The general functions of the New Zealand Māori Council are set out in the Māori Community Development Act 1962. This Act conveys the Council’s purpose and gives us the framework in which we operate.

Our Team

The NZ Māori Council is spearheaded by elected representatives from each Māori District. From within this national body, representatives are elected to advance the goals of the NZ Māori Council.

Our History

  • NZ Māori Council's rich and unique history can be traced back to the Kotahitanga movement and the Māori parliaments in the 1800s.

  • If you have any information about the history of the NZ Māori Council please contact us here: