Home > Aotea


Kia ora – Welcome to Aotea District Māori Council.

The Boundary of Aotea starts from the Mokau River, heading east to Lake Taupo at the Waitaha River, across Lake Taupo to Rangitikei, then south to Whangehu River

On the 16th May 2015 Aotea District Māori Council elections were held.

  • Aotea District Māori Council Executive are:
  • Chair:John Hooker
  • Senior Deputy Chair:Te Reo Hemi
  • Junior Deputy Chair: Ross Tiepa
  • Secretary:Diane Ratahi
  • Treasurer: Pat Hinga

Appointments to NZMC are:

  • John Hooker
  • Te Reo Hemi
  • Pura Whale

Elected proxies are:

  • Diane Ratahi
  • Lorraine Kiriona
  • Carol Te Huna

Aotea District Māori Council contact:       Diane Ratahi dianeratahi@hotmail.com

Paua NZ



Hot Topics


2018 Rua Rautau Lecture to be delivered by June Northcroft Grant and Dr Kim Workman at Wahiao Meeting House, Whakarewarewa Village, Rotorua on Sunday 4 February.

About Us

The general functions of the New Zealand Māori Council are set out in the Māori Community Development Act 1962. This Act conveys the Council’s purpose and gives us the framework in which we operate.

Our Team

The NZ Māori Council is spearheaded by elected representatives from each Māori District. From within this national body, representatives are elected to advance the goals of the NZ Māori Council.

Our History

  • NZ Māori Council's rich and unique history can be traced back to the Kotahitanga movement and the Māori parliaments in the 1800s.

  • If you have any information about the history of the NZ Māori Council please contact us here: