Home > NZ Māori Districts Map

NZ Māori Districts Map

NZ Māori Council is made up of a collective of Māori Committees within a Māori District.  All Māori Districts are required to adhere to the Māori Community Development Act 1963 sec 8-13.

Forming a new Māori Committee

  1. You must notify the local District Māori Council in your area of your intention to establish a new Māori Committee.  
  2. Confirm the Māori Committee area/boundaries with the District Māori Council. 
  3. Place a public notice of Māori Committee elections in the local newspaper.
  4. The Meetings held are to elect 7 members to constitute each Māori Committee and to appoint 2 members to go forward to the District Māori Council.

To connect to a Māori Council near you please click on the map or on a link below: