Home > Our Team

Our Team

CrownThe NZ Māori Council is spearheaded by elected representatives from each Māori District.  From within this national body, representatives are elected onto the Executive Team to advance the vision, mission and goals of the NZ Māori Council within the parameters of the Maori Community Development Act 1962. 

The Executive Roles:

Honorary President:   NZ Māori Council have an Honorary President’s position which is reserved for the Council’s Senior Statesmen.

Co-Chairs:   The co-chairs have the powers necessary to promote and advance the general functions of the New Zealand Māori Council and the efficient operation of the Māori Associations under the Community Development Act 1962, provided, that they are at all times be subject to such directions as the Council may give on any particular matter.

Deputy Co Chairs Administration:   In association with the co-chairs, the co-chairs administration have primary responsibility for the Council’s long-term planning and finances, risk management and internal controls including the management of the auditor and contractors, performance management of Council personnel and other best practice internal controls for membership organisations, provided they conform at all times to the direction of the Council.

Deputy Co Chairs Tikanga:   The co-chairs tikanga are responsible for developing the customary values which guide the Council and for promoting proper adherence to those values, and to tikanga, in the policies and practices of the Council and in the policies and practices of all other Māori Associations provided for in the Māori Community Development Act, provided they conform at all times to the directions of the Council.

Deputy Co Chair Communications:   In association with the co-chairs, the deputy chair communications has primary responsibility to develop and maintain public and internal communications strategies provided that she conforms at all times to the directions of the Council.

Deputy Chair Wardens:   To unify the Māori wardens under the NZ Māori Council, while developing a streamlined warranting system, a formalised training programme which responds to and benefits individual, sub-association and District outcomes and securing funding for all Māori wardens’ activities.

Maori Council Executive Members

  • Sir Graham Latimer has risen throught the ranks within tribal leadership influencing change.  The State Owned Enterprise Act, Crown Forest Assets Act, Crown Forest Rental Trust, Maori Fisheries and Maori Broadcasting are a result of his efforts.  A very gifted man who has worked across the political divide and in the interest of all Maori.

    Sir Graham Latimer, Honorary President
  • Sir Edward Durie  was the first Māori appointed as a Justice of the High Court of New Zealand and is regarded as a leading legal expert on the Treaty of Waitangi. He is of Rangitāne, Ngāti Kauwhata and Ngāti Raukawa descent. His Vision is for Council to have an effective voice in promoting Maori policy development with Government.

    Sir Edward Taihakurei Durie, Co-Chairman
  • Maanu Paul ia of Ngati Moewhare, Ngati Haka/Patuheuheu, Ngati Pukeko, Ngati Awa, Tuhoe, Te Arawa and Tainui. Maanu is a long standing member of the Council and has been a leading advocate and negotiator for the Maori Council in the Fisheries, State Owned Enterprises, Te Reo, Maori TV and Maori Spectrum.

    Maanu Paul, Co-Chairman
  • Titewhai has been with the NZ Maori Council for over 40 years and is one of only three life members. Titewhai brings a wealth of experience and a proven track record in negotiating and accomplishing what is right for Maori.  She has an ability to work at all levels and is able to share, facilitate, initiate and activate anything towards the advancement of Maori Kaupapa.

    Titewhai Harawira, Deputy Co Chair Tikanga
  • Ngapuhi ki Te Rarawa , O Ngapuhi nui tonu; Ngati Manawa-Kaitutae- Ngati Teringa-Tehikutu; Ki Hokianga; Ngati Kawau- Ngati Uru- Kaitangata; ki Whangaroa. Rihari has been advocating for maori rights for many years and has worked tirelessly in and around the rohe of Ngapuhi. Rihari brings a wealth of experience to the NZ Maori Council table.

    Rihari Dargaville, Deputy Co Chair Tikanga
  • John Tamihere (better known as JT) was born in Auckland as the tenth of 12 children to a Maori father of Ngati Porou, Whakatohea and Tainui descent and an Irish mother. He gained an arts and law degree from Auckland University and in 1991 became chief executive of the Waipareira Trust, which provides health and education services to Maori in the Auckland region.

    John Tamihere, Deputy Co-Chair Admin
  • Donna Huata grew up in Ohinemutu Pa and Tokomaru Bay.  Donna studied educational psychology at Auckland University and worked for ten years as an educational psychologist.  In 1996, Donna Awatere Huata was elected to parliament to represent ACT New Zealand.

    Donna Huata, Co Chair Admin
  • Rahui is married to Dr Selwyn Katene of Ngati Tama, Ngati Toa, Nga Ruahine Rangi, Ngati Tuwharetoa. Rahui was educated at Waimea College in Nelson, Church College of New Zealand in Hamilton, Waikato University and Victoria University of Wellington where she graduated with an LLB in 1992.  

    Rahui Katene, Deputy Chair Comms
  • Ngati Kahungunu te Iwi. 
Des’s vision is to unify the Maori wardens under the NZ Maori Council and streamline a warranting system with formalised training which benefits individuals and sub-associations, as well as, securing funding for all Maori wardens’ activities.

    Des Ratima, Deputy Chair Wardens

About Us

The general functions of the New Zealand Māori Council are set out in the Māori Community Development Act 1962. This Act conveys the Council’s purpose and gives us the framework in which we operate.

Our Team

The NZ Māori Council is spearheaded by elected representatives from each Māori District. From within this national body, representatives are elected to advance the goals of the NZ Māori Council.

Our History

  • NZ Māori Council's rich and unique history can be traced back to the Kotahitanga movement and the Māori parliaments in the 1800s.

  • If you have any information about the history of the NZ Māori Council please contact us here: