Home > Raukawa


Kia ora – Welcome to Raukawa District Māori Council

On 17 May 2015 Raukawa District Māori Committee elections were held.

Raukawa District Māori Council Executive are:

  • Chair:  Sir Edward (Taihakurei) Durie
  • Deputy Chair:  Eljon Fitzberald
  • Secretary:  Christine Kiriona
  • Treasurer:  Ewen Paynter
  • Wardens and Police Liaison Officer:  Wireum Te Aweawe

Appointments to NZMC are:

  • Taihakurei Durie
  • Eljon Fitzgerald
  • Wiremu Burman

Raukawa District Māori Council contact:   Christine Kiriona  Chillibang@clear.net.nz

The boundaries of Raukawa are Rangitikei, Manawatu and Horowhenua





About Us

The general functions of the New Zealand Māori Council are set out in the Māori Community Development Act 1962. This Act conveys the Council’s purpose and gives us the framework in which we operate.

Our Team

The NZ Māori Council is spearheaded by elected representatives from each Māori District. From within this national body, representatives are elected to advance the goals of the NZ Māori Council.

Our History

  • NZ Māori Council's rich and unique history can be traced back to the Kotahitanga movement and the Māori parliaments in the 1800s.

  • If you have any information about the history of the NZ Māori Council please contact us here: