Home > Tauranga Moana

Tauranga Moana

Kia ora – Welcome to Tauranga Moana District Māori Council

On 9  May Tauranga Moana District Māori Council elections were held the Tauranga Moana District Māori Council Executive are:

  • Chair: John Ohia
  • Deputy Chair:  Jackson White
  • Secretary/Treasurer:  Verna Ohia-Gate

Appointments to NZMC are:

  • Rehua Smallman
  • Paula Werohia
  • Jackson White

Tauranga Moana District Māori Council contact:  Verna Ohia-Gate awhiangels@gmail.com

The boundary for Tauranga Moana district is from Wahi Papamoa and inland to the Kaimai and Mamaku Ranges

Paua NZ




About Us

The general functions of the New Zealand Māori Council are set out in the Māori Community Development Act 1962. This Act conveys the Council’s purpose and gives us the framework in which we operate.

Our Team

The NZ Māori Council is spearheaded by elected representatives from each Māori District. From within this national body, representatives are elected to advance the goals of the NZ Māori Council.

Our History

  • NZ Māori Council's rich and unique history can be traced back to the Kotahitanga movement and the Māori parliaments in the 1800s.

  • If you have any information about the history of the NZ Māori Council please contact us here: