Home > Te Tai Tokerau

Te Tai Tokerau

Kia ora – Welcome to Te Tai Tokerau District Māori Council

Our boundaries are from Topuni Bridge on the east coast to Kaipara Harbour on the west coast and north to the North Cape, marginally north of Cape Reinga

On 20 April 2015 Tai Tokerau District Māori Council elections were held.

The Te Tai Tokerau Executive are:

  • Chair:  Rihari Dargaville
  • Deputy Chair:  Hinewhare Harawira
  • Secretary: Merehora Taurua

Appointments to the NZMC are:

  • Rihari Dargaville
  • Rudy Taylor
  • Dr Benjamin Pittman

Te Tai Tokerau Contact: Merehora Taurua (mata8288@xtra.co.nz)


Hot Topics


2018 Rua Rautau Lecture to be delivered by June Northcroft Grant and Dr Kim Workman at Wahiao Meeting House, Whakarewarewa Village, Rotorua on Sunday 4 February.

About Us

The general functions of the New Zealand Māori Council are set out in the Māori Community Development Act 1962. This Act conveys the Council’s purpose and gives us the framework in which we operate.

Our Team

The NZ Māori Council is spearheaded by elected representatives from each Māori District. From within this national body, representatives are elected to advance the goals of the NZ Māori Council.

Our History

  • NZ Māori Council's rich and unique history can be traced back to the Kotahitanga movement and the Māori parliaments in the 1800s.

  • If you have any information about the history of the NZ Māori Council please contact us here: