Home > Te Waipounamu

Te Waipounamu

Kia ora – Welcome to Te Waipounamu  District Māori Council

On 13 May 2015 Te Waipounamu District Māori Council elections were held

Te Waipounamu District Māori Council Executive are

  • Chair:  Norm Dewes
  • Deputy Chair: Henare Edwards
  • Secretary:  Ngaio Te Ua
  • Treasurer:  Jeanette Campbell

Appointments to the NZMC are:

  • Norm Dewes
  • Henare Edwards
  • Ngaio Te Ua

Te Waipounamu District Māori Council contact: Ngaio Te Ua email: ngaio.maoricouncil@gmail.com

The regional boundaries start north of Kaikoura on the east coast of the South Island, goes south to Raikiura (Stewart Is) and up the West Coast to Kahurangi Point


Paua NZ



Hot Topics


2018 Rua Rautau Lecture to be delivered by June Northcroft Grant and Dr Kim Workman at Wahiao Meeting House, Whakarewarewa Village, Rotorua on Sunday 4 February.

About Us

The general functions of the New Zealand Māori Council are set out in the Māori Community Development Act 1962. This Act conveys the Council’s purpose and gives us the framework in which we operate.

Our Team

The NZ Māori Council is spearheaded by elected representatives from each Māori District. From within this national body, representatives are elected to advance the goals of the NZ Māori Council.

Our History

  • NZ Māori Council's rich and unique history can be traced back to the Kotahitanga movement and the Māori parliaments in the 1800s.

  • If you have any information about the history of the NZ Māori Council please contact us here: