Home > Wellington


Kia ora – Welcome to Wellington District Maori Council

The boundaries of Wellington district are Waikanae to Whanganui a Tara

On 24 April 2015 Wellington District Māori Council elections were held

The Wellington Executive Committee are:

  • Chair: Tamati Cairns  
  • Deputy Chair: Noeline Smiler 
  • Secretary:  Amon Heremia

Delegates to NZMC are:

  • Tamati Cairns,
  • Noeline Smiler 
  • Amon Heremia
  • Bruce Aranga (proxy)

Wellington Contact: amon.heremia@weltec.ac.nz

please feel free to browse our website or contact us direct!


Paua NZ



Hot Topics


2018 Rua Rautau Lecture to be delivered by June Northcroft Grant and Dr Kim Workman at Wahiao Meeting House, Whakarewarewa Village, Rotorua on Sunday 4 February.

About Us

The general functions of the New Zealand Māori Council are set out in the Māori Community Development Act 1962. This Act conveys the Council’s purpose and gives us the framework in which we operate.

Our Team

The NZ Māori Council is spearheaded by elected representatives from each Māori District. From within this national body, representatives are elected to advance the goals of the NZ Māori Council.

Our History

  • NZ Māori Council's rich and unique history can be traced back to the Kotahitanga movement and the Māori parliaments in the 1800s.

  • If you have any information about the history of the NZ Māori Council please contact us here: